The Find Full Text feature will attempt to locate and download full text files for your references. The best results are obtained when connected to the Imperial College London network. For further information on setting preferences to optimise retrieval of full-text articles, see Configuring Full Text and OpenURL settings.
If EndNote cannot find the full text file, it will often be able to attach the URL of the article for easier future access.
To find and retrieve full text:
EndNote begins searching for and downloading the full text for the selected references. References appear in groups under a Find Full Text group set.
Four different groups may appear: Searching…, Found PDF, Found URL and Not Found
You can pause or cancel the Find Full Text operation, by right clicking on the Searching group, and select Pause finding full text or Cancel finding full text.
Full text that has been retrieved until that point is already saved in the library. To resume a paused Find Full Text operation, right click on the Searching group and select Resume finding full text.
The Find Full Text temporary groups remain for the current session but disappear when you close the library. Full-text downloading happens in the background, which may affect the performance of other operations.
When a full-text file is downloaded and attached to a reference, a file attachment icon appears in the File Attachment field for the reference.
In the library window, a paper clip icon appears in the File Attachments column for that reference.
If Find full text does not work you can manually add the attachment, see adding references manually.